Tony T Cuc

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

A police report to give them a police report

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Direct Express - A police report to give them a police report
Direct Express - A police report to give them a police report - Image 2
I just wrote a report and it didn't save, causing me to have to start all over again. I don't know what's going on with this, but I'm kind of upset about it. I really need my money. This is the third time I've tried to write it and it won't save. I'm not sure what's going on with this. Somebody took $500 out of my Direct Express and I need that money. I have to write this report correctly in order to get it back.
View full review
Loss:
$500
Pros:
  • Concerned about that customers
Cons:
  • Hard to reach a live person

Preferred solution: Full refund

Naba R Eiu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Vestal, New York

They get a 1 bc giving zero stars isn't an option! This card company is absurd & As soon as I pull the rest of my money off of it, I'm switching to a different card company

In late Oct 2023 I had to order a replacement card bc of some glitch in their system & like 2suspicious charges! Wanting to make sure it arrived by the beginning of November so I could pay bills, I paid the expedition fee!

Card arrived 2 days later, I activated it changed my PIN (to be safe) the next day is pay the bills day! My DE mobile app says invalid card! I call customer service & it says your PIN has been locked! I wait (58mins) for rep.

I explain the situation. She says we need to update your address! I said ma'am not only have I lived at the same address for 10yrs but you just sent me a card days ago that I activated yesterday. She insists & I comply!

I tell her my address AND she repeats it back to me verbatim! Plz note that before I ever began to tell her my problem, I had to (as you have to each time you call) verify my personal info ie: ss# DOB, 4 security questions and THEN they will discuss your situation with you.

So after repeating my address back to me much like a parrot exactly as I said it to her I paid another Expedition fee cuz now I will be paying my bills late so I'm waiting the two days go by no card I'm trying to call but herein lies the problem when you order a new card they discontinue the current card and without a card number you cannot talk to a customer service rep that's right the fourth day the fifth day the 6th day and all of these days are going by that I'm calling Social Security I'm calling Comerica Bank I'm calling the complaint line just to try to get a customer service rep finally I found a wonderful lady at the complaints department to connect me through to a customer service rep at US Direct Express customer service this rep proceeds to tell me that my car was delivered on November 2nd I said ma'am I beg to differ it was not she said well yes ma'am it was it was delivered to your back door I'm looking at it right now your your blue back door I said me and I live in a White House with white doors and nothing is ever delivered to my back door I don't use my back door because I'm confined to a wheelchair and my back door has very steep stairs so she gives me the tracking number while I'm on the phone with her I track the number low and behold it was delivered to a totally different address totally different Street City ZIP code the only thing that was the same was the state so she expedites me with a fee another card and cancels that one this was on the 8th of November the card gets here on the 10th I activated all of my money was gone I'm hysterical at this point I don't know what I'm going to do but more importantly how were they able to activate my card without all of my personal information I don't know anybody in the city that it was sent to the only person that had my personal information was the person on the phone who repeated my address back to me and then sent it to the wrong address I don't want to speak out of school but it seems to me that there's some not so honest employees working there anyway I file a police report they tell me I have 10 business days to get all of the information and all of the proof that I can gather to give to them so that they can decide whether or not it was unauthorized so just me one person confined to a wheelchair gets 10 days you know how many days they get to decide whether or not my money was stolen 45 to 120 with thousands of employees and all kinds of tools and information at their fingertips kind of crazy if you ask me anyway they finally on supposedly the third of January decided that it was unauthorized and the they had to replace my money that's what I was told on the phone they had made the decision on the 3rd and they sent the letter out I would be receiving it any day what's so crazy about it is the letter is dated the 16th but it gets even better because they did give me provisional funds I'll give them that they did give me but had I not done all of the footwork and sent all of the proof they could have taken those provisional funds back but here's the thing they made the decision that it was unauthorized but an employee another employee of theirs messed up and entered it wrong into the computer and made my account negative like a thousand dollars it took them almost a whole month to fix that now keep in mind the only people that you as direct express deals with are people on SSI people on disability are military Are Soldiers that's who they deal with that's whose money they are handling if you want to call it handling you can't get through to any is ridiculous trying to get through I don't care what time of day you call we're experiencing higher than normal call volume and then they just hang up on you I can't tell you how many times during those you know 10 15 or 10 days or so where I was trying to get through to a customer rep oh you got the wrong department and just hang up on me their company and their policies are trash they should be put out of it they should be closed down not to mention there are so many places that don't even accept the card your bank has declined your bank has declined what the *** if the money is in there it's my money I should be able to spend it how where and when I want I'm grown I don't need anyone monitoring my money so yes as soon as I can pull the last penny off of there I am switching card companies and then after all of that I get this measly little letter dated the 16th says basically it says yep you were right it was unauthorized no thank you for your business we're sorry for the trouble no nothing just yet it was an authorized trash absolute trash. At this point I don't want anything from them there is nothing they could give me that could change the way I feel about their company or erase that absolute misery that they put me through I just want other people to be warned it could happen to you just as easily

View full review

User's recommendation: Avoid putting your money on this card in the same way you'd avoid letting a 2yr old handle your money

Roger B Lcj

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Just receive new replacement card and having issue creating pin

Direct Express - Just receive new replacement card and having issue creating pin
Direct Express - Just receive new replacement card and having issue creating pin - Image 2
I have submit my id and its already verified. But still yet I cant activate and create a pin my my new card I just receive in my mail.
View full review
Loss:
$1050
Pros:
  • I have no pros to add
Cons:
  • I have no contact

Preferred solution: Get my card fixed asap

User's recommendation: Activate my card now okay. This is my new card in the pics below

Resolved
Brittany W Fpi

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Ashland, Kentucky

Resolved: Mycardmoeny

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Direct Express - Mycardmoeny
Direct Express - Mycardmoeny - Image 2
Direct Express - Mycardmoeny - Image 3
Direct Express - Mycardmoeny - Image 4
Updated by user Jan 04, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with partial refund.

Original review Jan 04, 2024
I had 388 lost a hundred dollars some where how can I get it back just let me no thank God bless $ just keep in touch with me ok$
View full review
Amanda P Ans

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Card stopped working

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I got my social security benefits on the 3rd of May on my direct express card...later that same day my card stopped working completely! I have 54.00 dollors that I can not get to!

I have tried calling the customer service number 11 times been on hold for over 6 hours NO ONE ever picks up!! I am extremely upset! I need my money ASAP! I'm want my money immediately.

I don't want a new card . I will not be using this again shame on you for what u have done to me!

If I don't get my 54.00 with in the next 24 hours I'm contacting the better business bureau and writing a bad review and contacting an attorney for u stole my money! I suggested you do what is right and give me back my 54.00 dollors.

View full review
Loss:
$54
Cons:
  • Scam they take your money

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Never use!!!

Resolved
Angel D Anc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: They keep locking my card

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Apr 10, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. After 5 days of calling day and night with up to 3 hours waiting on them the 5th day I called them put it on speaker phone and just tried to go on doing normal things with them on hold and in an hour and a half they answered the phone and unlocked my card and it was about time because we had nothing hadn't even paid the bills yet but it's all taken care of for now until next time they lock it up in a month go Direct Express

Original review Apr 03, 2024
Can't get money can't buy food nothing so I try to call get connected where it's that stupid music that is so loud you can't hold the phone close to your ear and the constant stay on the line we will be with you shortly *** 2 hours later still haven't got to talk to anyone.
View full review

Preferred solution: Fix my card stop locking it.

User's recommendation: Do not use Direct Express it is horrible

Jason W Bdu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

My card was hacked

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
someone in Miami requested a replacement card on my account and they sent it out to them no questions asked and they sent me a notice two weeks after the fact asking me if i requested this change i think the people that work there are doing it because now after they draind my account they wont respond to me and my account is blocked i am disabled elderly and my wife and i depend on this as our only income and its really pennies but its all we got please help us sir we are so desparate thank you good day.get a bank account if you can
View full review
Loss:
$848
Cons:
  • Fraud charges not authorize they do absolutly

Preferred solution: Full refund

Resolved
Tania P Egl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: There is nobody to talk too, bad horrible customer service!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Apr 11, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology. Finally decided to disconnect my direct express card

Original review Apr 02, 2024
Bad service I could not get my money out to pay bills,nobody would answer phone, didn't have a good phone number to call for times like his same number for everything, got me know where, then my card locked I was so pissed off, I hate this company, oh ya they also take your money ,
View full review
Loss:
$132
Pros:
  • I get my money on my card
Cons:
  • Stupid people

Preferred solution: Late fees on bills,

User's recommendation: I would not recommend this company they ripped off hundreds of people

Cassandra M Hzy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I can't login my account

Direct Express - I can't login my account
The app is always crashing this happens way to much for me and I about ready to lose my cool so fix it
View full review

Preferred solution: For the app to stop crashing

Denia Cch

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Berwyn, Illinois

Comerica Direct Express is a *** operation

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Mar 12, 2024

I have been trying for over a year to get transfers to my bank account approved. Called today, hold times were improved, but service still SUX !

I first spoke with Gretta and explained what I wanted to do (transfer funds to my checking acct), the steps I had been through and the result - transfers denied !!

She was nice enough, and told me that my requests to enable transfers had been denied by a manager at least twice. She could not say why but would transfer my call to a supervisor to get this resolved.Audrey came on the line and looked at the record of the account and could only tell me to do AGAIN what I had already done.

As my bank (PNC) doesn't include routing numbers on their statements, I had previously gone to the bank to have a letter drawn up - on bank letterhead - signed by a bank officer - which included the routing number, account number, my name and my address of record. This took over an hour and I require supplemental oxygen 24/7. I almost ran out.

(I am truly surprised that Comerica Bank didn't require me to get the number of times I dump every day certified !)

My bank letter stated "In response to your request that PNC Bank, National Association provide written verification concerning your checking account(s), we are providing the following information:" followed by the routing and account numbers and signed appropriately.

According to Audrey, the letter MUST contain the words "(insert my name) is the owner of the account" - VERBATIM ! ! !

This was the first time I was informed of this RIDICULOUS requirement, and I am NOT about to go back to PNC and repeat the ordeal . .

As a result, I am forced to change my direct deposit and forgo the benefits of my Direct Express card (0.85 ATM withdrawals among others).

Effective May 2024 my payments will no longer go to Comerica Bank.

If more people did this, perhaps Comerica would be more responsive.

View full review
Pros:
  • Cheap atm withdrawals
Cons:
  • Everhything else

User's recommendation: Do NOT use Comerica/Direct Express ! Stop referring to Direct Express and refer to Comerica, as they are the ones responsible..

Dorothy S Qla

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

My card was closed without my authorization nor knowledge as to why

Direct Express - My card was closed without my authorization nor knowledge as to why
Direct Express - My card was closed without my authorization nor knowledge as to why - Image 2
On 2/3 at 5:06pm I spoke with customer service at 188******** for 51 min and 47 seconds. At No time was I informed nor requested for my card to be tampered with closed or otherwise AND ITS NOW CLOSED WITH MY RENT MONEY STUCK ON IT. I DID NOT REQUEST ANOTHER CARD NOR PROVIDE AN ADDRESS FOR ONE TO BE SHIPPED TO SO UNLICK MY MONEY WITH CARD ENDING IN 1072 WHICH I AM IN POSSESSION OF.
View full review
Loss:
$460
Cons:
  • Cant access

Preferred solution: Unlock my card

Resolved
Makenley Cfe

Resolved: I was wanting to cancel my direct express card...

I was wanting to cancel my direct express card and transfer the money that's on my direct express card to my chime card the routing number is 10310**** and the account number is 689189****09 and my chime card number is 498503****209042 I was just wanting to know if I can transfer the money that's left on my direct express card to my chime card if I could have yall's fax number to fax it to ya'll my information my contact number is 270-970-**** my email address is halel5411@***.com
View full review
Kathryn M Ocu

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Card status says invalid, unable to contact customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
To whom it may concern, I have been trying to contact direct express from the only phone number given 888-741-****. I have waited on "hold" for more that 12 hours at a time for 3 consecutive days. I know for a fact my SSA was direct deposited with confirmation from the social security office and I am unable to log into my account nor withdrawal funds to pay bills. From what I understand I am one of many who is having this same issue. I need someone, A LIVE PERSON, to call me back.
View full review
Loss:
$2660
Cons:
  • Zero response from customer service number that says 247 help

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Get a checking account and deposit your SSA there

Gerson Eix
map-marker Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

What are none peak call times!?

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I've tried calling 10 times that to find out where my card is cuz its been over 15 days!!! And each time I call it says to call back during none peak call hours... I have no idea when that is... I just want to have peace of mind that my card is in fact on its way... and what if it never shows up? What if I cant get ahold of someone then either... just very frustrating and unnecessary with today's technology it seems.
View full review
MICHELLE J Jxj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

My money was stolen

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Direct Express - My money was stolen
Updated by user Dec 15, 2023

My income has been stolen and no one wants to make it right

Original review Dec 15, 2023
Michelle Johnson 5 hours ago #12902 I receive my benefits through Direct Express,on the November 27,2023 I was on Facebook and The Direct Express is on Facebook The Direct Express service said on chat that they wanted a copy of my card,my social security card my birth certificate and my ID card, now the Direct Express stole my identity and my money I am on a fixed income and have no way to buy food or paying for my utilities or buying medicine and no one will help me Reply
View full review
Loss:
$914
Pros:
  • Identity was stolen
Cons:
  • Not a real bank

Preferred solution: Full refund

Gwen H Iqp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Sikeston, Missouri

My card is locked and i need help please

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I'm not sure just tried to use it and it wouldn't let me. I keep calling the 188******** number and can't never get thru to anyone. Please can someone fix my issue. Ty
View full review

Brands Related to Direct Express

Comerica Bank reviews and complaints

Comerica Bank

stars-rating stars-rating stars-rating stars-rating stars-rating
1.7
342 Reviews

“Answer the phone I need my social security money and it goes on my DirectExpress card and its not...“

Comerica Insurance Servic... reviews and complaints

Comerica Insurance Servic...

0 Reviews
Comerica Securities reviews and complaints

Comerica Securities

0 Reviews
World Asset Management reviews and complaints

World Asset Management

0 Reviews

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article